0

Your Cart is Empty

12-month Xbox Live Gold subscription no longer available

July 20, 2020 1 min read

Microsoft has removed the option to purchase a 12-month subscription to its Xbox Live Gold service. While both one-month and three-month subscriptions remain purchasable, the full year sub has been scrubbed from Xbox stores across all territories.

When the removal was first discovered, some reports hypothesised that it was just an error on the Xbox store's part, but Microsoft has since sent a statement to True Achievements, confirming that the change is indeed intentional.

"At this time, Xbox has decided to remove the 12 months Xbox Live Gold SKU from the Microsoft online store," reads the statement. "Customers can still sign up for a one month or three month Xbox Live Gold subscription online through the Microsoft Store".

No reason has been offered for the yearly sub removal. With Microsoft's Xbox Series X conference happening later this week, it will be interesting to see if this is mysterious decision foreshadows an overhaul of sorts for the Xbox Live Gold service. Of course, the timing could be merely coincidental.

The Xbox Series X Games Showcase will take place July 23 at 09:00 PT / 12:00 ET / 17:00 BST.

Microsoft confirms 12-month Xbox Live Gold subscription removal [True Achievements / VGC]

12-month Xbox Live Gold subscription no longer available screenshot