0

Your Cart is Empty

The King of Fighters ’98 Ultimate Match Final Edition drops onto PS4 outta nowhere

June 21, 2022 2 min read

king of fighters 98 final ps4 snk kof release

Get Reeeeeady... GO!

Fans of SNK's foremost fight franchise The King of Fighters are waking up to some surprising and unexpected news this morning, as it appears that The King of Fighters '98 Ultimate Match Final Edition is now available to purchase on PS4, mere hours after it popped up on the PEGI ratings board.

Already available on PC via Steam and GOG.com, The King of Fighters '98 Ultimate Match Final Edition is (allegedly) the last revision of the classic KoF entry, still considered by many to be the most iconic and definitive release in the storied series. KoF '98 Final Edition, originally released in 2014, features a fresh rebalance of the game's 64-strong roster of classic characters, along with rollback-netcode-powered online play, and a selection of additional modes including Endless, Mission, and Training.

https://youtu.be/IkzrUD56DPk

In addition, boutique publisher Pix'n Love has announced that it will open pre-orders on a selection of physical releases next Monday. Options available will include a standard boxed edition of King of Fighters '98 Final Edition on PS4, a Collector's Edition (limited to 2500 copies) with classic Neo Geo-style packaging, and finally, a Deluxe Edition (limited to 200 copies) that also includes an aluminum plate featuring a reproduction of the KoF '98 Final Edition artwork.

All physical releases will launch later in 2022, but if you want in on the limited editions, but sure to put down your pre-order, exclusively on the Pix'n Love store, on Monday, June 27, at 08:00 PT/ 11:00 ET /16:00 BST.

The King of Fighters '98 Ultimate Match Final Edition is available to download now on PS4 and PC.

The post The King of Fighters ’98 Ultimate Match Final Edition drops onto PS4 outta nowhere appeared first on Destructoid.